Dar-what now?

When I applied to go to Darwin on Moore College mission, I did so on a whim. My interest was real, but vague. Missionaries I have loved have ministered in the Territory and I was eager to get a taste and see if it was something to put on my bucket list. Long-term. Unformed.

Something I am learning about my life is that God knows infinitely better than I do. He did not share my whim or my vagueness. His is not the plan of someone unsure about the future.

5ebc19d2-4635-4c83-aeae-843b341191b4
Exploring after only a few hours sleep means posing with termite mounds…

From the moment I arrived in Darwin, with friends, at 2am, I loved it. It sounds too easy, naïve even, but I loved it in a way I have had trouble explaining since. Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t love the heat, mild in May, but warm enough to warrant cold showers before bed and dripping wet hair. In the tropics, everything is kept in the fridge, and books don’t last, and vanity (mine at least) is put on hold. In spite of these facts, the place tugged immediately at my heart.

Mission can be utterly romantic, especially when you’re far from home. You worry that it is removed from all reality, meetings in swimming pools and operas in the park. When I left, I waited for it to wear off. I waited for the ache to subside, the ache of missing a place – and people –  I barely knew, despite them feeling familiar from the first moments.

cd79f08f-6a0f-43b2-84f2-804c03aee6bb
No really, opera in the park!

It didn’t subside. Those 10 days in tropical paradise were like jumping into a frigid lake, except with heat. Because it’s hot there, didya know? They shocked me awake, changed my course. And it wasn’t the palm trees or the star fruit or the night markets, but the song that my heart started to sing amongst a church family far away from my own. We spent 2 Sundays at St Pete’s, and the thought of getting to be a part of what God is doing there was thrilling from the first moment. At the time, there was no avenue for that to be anything more than a dream, but I couldn’t get it out of my head.

3DB020D7-B0AA-467C-8668-6E9FA2D47899.JPG
Tomfoolery, with Moore’s finest thespians.

A lot has happened since stepping off a plane on a freezing Sydney morning, brandishing a thunder drum and peppering my conversations with ‘Darwin’ like a high-school girl with a new crush. Over the past few months there have been lots of prayers, lots of conversations, and one very exciting job ad. And throughout, an inability to shake what had taken hold in me. Banner ads in my email account, spruiking property in the NT. Walking with a friend in my year group, my roomie on college mission, as she found her path winding toward Darwin and AFES work on the uni campus there. Weekly newsletters from Josh at St Pete’s, and real talk about the challenges, about the opportunities, about the need for Jesus to be known. Last Friday, 15 minutes before college chapel, I found out what it had all been building to. In 5 months this distant dream has become my future, and I’m so grateful to God it feels as though my heart might burst.

1a353f81-0f49-42e4-ad21-6d4f9cb0d067
Team dinner. Precious peeps.

The first person I ran into after hearing the news was my college chaplain, Ed. This is fitting, because he led the team to Darwin, and is maybe the same amount of excited I am about how this has all worked out. He is claiming the victory for Moore College Mission, under God, and so it is. I am so grateful for this precious place which presents gospel need and equips us to go and serve.

Sitting in chapel, reeling and trying not to cry from relief and joy, the sermon was about the genealogy that begins the gospel account by Matthew. I am grateful too, for these constant reminders of what this is all about. Life and college, study, love and shared meals, sore brains and possessions bundled up in storage. The truth of the gospel changes everything, radically re-orients our lives. Jesus bids broken people, ordinary people, desperate sinners to come, follow, find forgiveness. His death for my sin, and his life for my life. I am so grateful to know him. His is the name I hope to make much of, all my days.

8a3fe625-96f6-4f45-8aa5-9767024800e8
An ordinary, extraordinary sunset.

It’s in his name I go, and it can only be. There are goodbyes which would be in danger of breaking my heart, if it weren’t for the knowledge that He is worth it. Goodbyes to my beloved Clovelly and toddlers I will never have in my Sunday School class. A limited number of Sundays left, and Tuesday nights and Friday afternoons. The fact that every part of this Sydney life is limited edition, makes me no end of nostalgic. Instead of turning inward, I am casting it on the One who cares for me. Trying to. There are goodbyes to family, those around whom my soul breathes out, in my default happy places.  I don’t know how to be without them near, but I cannot doubt that God would have me go. His leading has been so kind, and so clear. And I cannot doubt that he will be my comfort and my hiding place. I don’t expect this to be easy, but I can’t wait to learn to trust him more as I am stripped of things I am tempted to close my fist around. He is so good to me, and has always been.

e28432b0-bf38-4b9b-b097-05c10a71c3e6
We all like sheep…

I am excited about this next chapter. To find my place in a new church family. To build a life and make friends and share Jesus with kids and their parents. Thank you for praying, if you have been, and I would value your prayers in an ongoing sense. Please pray that this move would be one that brings glory to God, not to me. Please pray that He will work mightily to draw people into his kingdom, and that he might see fit to find work for my hands to do, to that end. Though this is a sweet season, I do not doubt there will be difficult ones to follow. Pray I will trust him always, and love him more with each passing year, and never stop pointing people to Him.

2 Cor 5: 14-15: “For Christ’s love compels us, since we have reached this conclusion: If One died for all, then all died. And He died for all so that those who live should no longer live for themselves, but for the One who died for them and was raised.”

Pray I might do this, under God. Alone, I am selfish and proud and I want too-small things. Praise be to God that I am not alone, and He is teaching me what it means to love him, best of all.

7 thoughts on “Dar-what now?

  1. Hi Laura
    I wrote a message yesterday but somehow lost it so if this is the second message from me sorry.
    I just wanted to say how excited I am to hear you are coming to Darwin. What a great choice the parish has made. I can only imagine how excited everyone else is as we look forward to Gods workin in and through you.
    Josh and Bruce are a great support in ministry.
    May God bless your time in Darwin and at St Petes. If will be a blessing to have you at our church. Looking forward to seeing you again.
    One in Christ
    Annette Simpkins

    1. Hello Annette,

      Thank you for your lovely message! You haven’t doubled up from my end – am so grateful to read this. Your warm words of encouragement and welcome mean a lot to me. I feel very blessed to get to join in the work you have been doing, so well and faithfully.

      On a personal note I have been thinking of you and praying for you and very much consider those few hours on your veranda, with you and Glen, a gift to me. Am looking forward to seeing you again also!

      Love Laura x

  2. I’m a latecomer to your post, Laura, but I absolutely get your sense of falling in love with Darwin (and the Territory), because the same thing happened to me, in 1986, and it’s never gone away. Jenny, you, and… can we make it a third?
    Greg Anderson

    1. That’s so encouraging to hear Greg! Am thankful for the love that seemingly sprung up from nowhere, but was actually God-given, in his kindness. Am praying with you for a third… and a fourth… Exciting times!! 🙂 LG

  3. Hi Laura
    I am so looking forward to working with you at St Peters and enjoying the kids work.
    I get your joy and excitement also,as it happened to me in 1962.and I still love the place
    I knew the Lord was directing my steps to Darwin yet all I could say at the time by way of explaination was that I just love those gorgeous Aboriginal children ?? Not the sort of answer a mission committee might want to hear.
    You will be amazed at the wonderful life He has planned for you up here
    every blessing as you pack and prepare
    Lorna

    1. Hello Lorna,

      Thank you for your wonderful and encouraging message – am looking forward to working with you too. Yours is an amazing story and I would like to hear it in full, one day, please! I’m so grateful to not be alone in that ‘feeling’ which seems so intangible, but is actually part of the way that God sees fit to prepare us for what’s next. I hope and pray you are right about what lies ahead – am sure excited about it! Many thanks for your prayers and I’ll see you in a few months!

      🙂 Laura

Leave a Reply

