A (short) research week reflection in (non-rhyming) verse*…

The first doctrine assignment I ever did for college was about Freedom of choice.

Our enslaved will and God’s gracious rescue in Jesus.
Only in Christ am I free.

The second was on revelation.
Our blind eyes and God’s gracious illumination in Jesus.
Only in Christ can I see.

The third was on original sin.
Our being dead in sin and God’s gracious life-giving in Jesus.
Only in Christ am I alive.

Now I am writing my fourth Doctrine essay, about Justification.
Our being utterly guilty and God’s gracious righteousness in Jesus.
Only in Christ am I right with God.

My thought process, every time:

I am crap – look how crap I am. I can’t do anything to change it.
But Jesus – look at him! He has changed everything!
I am in Jesus. That is ridiculously good news.

Ok College. I see what you’re up to. Well-played.

*Alright, not verse exactly…

Leave a Reply

